SUNDAY SHOUT-OUT: POWER PLAY

Is there ever such a thing as too many books? I don’t think there are too many books to read, but there can definitely be too many to review. Often I’m sent books and, with an already sagging review shelf, these unsolicited books often often don’t fit in to my schedule. Other times, I am unable to finish a book I intended to review (for various reasons), or I don’t have time for a full review. Sunday Shout-Out aims to acknowledge these books and the publishers who have sent them to me.

Sunday Shout Out is a bookish meme hosted by Monique of Write Note Reviews. If you’re a book blogger and you want to join in, just:

  • Share the title, author, blurb and image from a book (or more than one) you want to acknowledge
  • Share the genre, price and link to the publisher so readers can follow up if they like the sound of the book
  • Ping back to Write Note Reviews in your post.

♦♦♦

Power Play by Danielle Steel, Bantam Press RRP $32.99. Available from Random House Australia.

http://pubimages.randomhouse.com.au/getimage.aspx?vid=474500&usehttp=0&cat=default&class=books&size=custom&resize=1&dpi=300&quality=100&type=jpg&width=1500&height=2500&id=9780593068588

Fiona Carson has proven herself as CEO of a multibillion-dollar high-tech company, but she still has to meet the challenges of her world every day. Devoted single mother, world-class strategist, and tough negotiator, Fiona weighs every move she makes and reserves any personal time for her children. Isolation and constant pressure are givens for her as a woman in a man’s world. Meanwhile, Marshall Weston basks in the fruits of his achievements. At his side is his wife Liz – the perfect, supportive corporate spouse – who has gladly sacrificed her own law career to raise their three children. Smooth, shrewd, and irreproachable, Marshall is a model chief executive, and the power he wields only enhances his charisma. And to maintain his position, he harbors secrets that could destroy his life at any moment. Both must face their own demons, and fight off those who are jealous of their success. Their lives as CEOs of major companies come at a high price. But just how high a price are they willing to pay? Who are they willing to sacrifice to stay on top? Those they love, or themselves?

Danielle Steel is one of the world’s most popular and highly acclaimed authors. In 2014 Danielle was awarded the prestigious Legion d’honneur award, France’s highest honour. She is also an avid Downton Abbey fan. I know her books are much-loved all over the world, but I’m not a big fan these days. The publisher sent me this but since my review shelf is sagging with books I’ve requested, I decided a shout out would suffice for this one. If you’re a fan, you’ll read this no matter what I say! One for readers of Barbara Taylor Bradford, Penny Vincenzi and Lesley Pearce.

Danielle Steel is one of the world’s most popular and highly acclaimed authors. In 2014 Danielle was awarded the prestigious Legion d’honneur award, France’s highest honour. She is also an avid Downton Abbey fan.

To discover more about Danielle Steel and her books visit her website at www.daniellesteel.com. – See more at: http://www.randomhouse.com.au/books/danielle-steel/power-play-9780593068588.aspx#sthash.XdzBvZHh.dpuf

♦♦♦

What do you think? Do this sound like something you’d read?

Fiona Carson has proven herself as CEO of a multibillion-dollar high-tech company, but she still has to meet the challenges of her world every day. Devoted single mother, world-class strategist, and tough negotiator, Fiona weighs every move she makes and reserves any personal time for her children. Isolation and constant pressure are givens for her as a woman in a man’s world.

Meanwhile, Marshall Weston basks in the fruits of his achievements. At his side is his wife Liz – the perfect, supportive corporate spouse – who has gladly sacrificed her own law career to raise their three children. Smooth, shrewd, and irreproachable, Marshall is a model chief executive, and the power he wields only enhances his charisma. And to maintain his position, he harbors secrets that could destroy his life at any moment.

Both must face their own demons, and fight off those who are jealous of their success. Their lives as CEOs of major companies come at a high price. But just how high a price are they willing to pay? Who are they willing to sacrifice to stay on top? Those they love, or themselves? – See more at: http://www.randomhouse.com.au/books/danielle-steel/power-play-9780593068588.aspx#sthash.yahW6clI.dpuf